School Gate Survival Guide
Kerry Fisher, Read by Sally Orrock

Book cover image

Narrated By: Sally Orrock

Duration: 9 hours and 15 minutes

What to expect

A hilarious, straight-talking read for fans of Fiona Neill and Gill Hornby’s ‘The Hive’.

Maia is a cleaner for ladies who lunch. With mops and buckets in tow, she spends her days dashing from house to house cleaning up after them, as they rush from one exhausting Pilates class to the next.

But an unusual inheritance catapults her and her children into the very exclusive world of Stirling Hall School – a place where no child can survive without organic apricots and no woman goes a week without a manicure.

As Maia and her children, Bronte and Harley, try to settle into their new life, Maia is inadvertently drawn to the one man who can help her family fit in. But is his interest in her purely professional? And will it win her any favours at the school gate?

A hilarious, straight-talking read for anyone who's ever despaired at the politics of the school run.

Genre

Modern & contemporary fiction

Listen to a sample

“Such a funny, feel-good read, a clever riff on the Cinderella story with terrific authentic characters, especially feisty Maia who wouldn't let school gate snobbery keep her down.”
Jane Lythell, author of ‘The Lie of You’

“So witty and fun.” Lucy Atkins author of ‘The Missing One’

“I laughed out loud…a well written, witty reminder that money cannot buy self-worth and confidence.” Novelicious

“The plot was great, the writing was brilliant, the characters adorable.” Kim the Bookworm

“Kerry’s writing style made it effortless to read and I got pulled in from the first page. I loved this book.” Novel Kicks