Strong Hand to Hold
Anne Bennett, Read by Avita Jay

Book cover image

Narrated By: Avita Jay

Duration: 15 hours and 18 minutes

What to expect

A heartbreaking tale of love and loss in a time of war, perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Annie Groves.

Jenny O’Leary is devastated one morning in 1940 when she receives a telegram giving her the dreadful news that one of her brothers has been killed in action. Grief threatens to engulf her, but as an ARP warden, tending to Birmingham’s injured after the nightly raids, she is well-used to the suffering that thousands are enduring every day.

Linda Prosser is just twelve years old and desperately close to her mother and two tiny brothers. As the bombs drop around them one fateful night, Linda takes a risk which has disastrous consequences. Terrified, and buried beneath a mass of debris after her home takes a direct hit, it is Jenny who crawls through the wreckage of the house to rescue her.

So begins a friendship which is last through the years. But when Linda falls in love with a man that Jenny despises, she is faced with sacrificing her future happiness for the friend who has given her everything…

Genre

Classic fiction, Generational sagas

Listen to a sample

Praise for Anne Bennett:

‘A powerful read that will have you gripped.’ Yours

‘[Anne Bennett is] blessed with a vivid imagination and a natural aptitude for writing’ Daily Post

‘An affecting story, populated with rich, beautifully drawn characters.’ Choice

‘The beauty of Anne’s books is that they are about normal people and are sewn through with human emotions which affect us all’ Birmingham Post