Blooding
James McGee, Read by David Timson

Book cover image

Narrated By: David Timson

Duration: 17 hours and 26 minutes

What to expect

Hawkwood’s in America for this gripping, action-packed follow up to the bestselling Ratcatcher - for fans of Bernard Cornwell, Conn Igulden and Patrick O’Brian

DECEMBER, 1812
Britain is locked in a bitter war with America and Matthew Hawkwood, soldier turned spy, is stranded behind enemy lines.

A TERRIFYING PLOT
Hawkwood heads for the Canadian border, along with former comrade-in-arms, Major Douglas Lawrence. But as they men make their escape, the two men uncover a plot that could turn the British Empire to dust.

A PERILOUS JOURNEY
Pursued by a relentless enemy, Hawkwood and Lawrence set off across the Adirondack Mountains. But they are not alone. Buried deep in Hawkwood’s past is an old alliance – one which could save both their lives and turn the tide of war…

Genre

Adventure fiction, Historical fiction

Listen to a sample

Praise for James McGee:

  • 'Irresistible… rambunctious entertainment' Observer
  • 'Rumbustious…a darkly attractive hero, terrific period atmosphere and action' The Times
  • 'Atmospheric and well researched… try it' Daily Mirror
  • ‘Breakneck pace, brutal action, clever characterisation and twisty plotting …' Reginald Hill
  • ‘Ratcatcher is a richly enjoyable and impressively researched novel – also very gripping. James McGee is clearly a rising star in the historical galaxy and I look forward to Hawkwood's return' Andrew Taylor, author of The American Boy