Gallows Bird
Camilla Lackberg, Read by Eamonn Riley

Book cover image

Narrated By: Eamonn Riley

Duration: 13 hours and 35 minutes

What to expect

To avoid disappointment, please note this book is now published under the title THE STRANGER. Swedish crime sensation and No. 1 international bestseller, Camilla Lackberg’s fourth psychological thriller - for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo

A woman is found dead, apparently the victim of a tragic car crash. It’s the first in a spate of seemingly inexplicable accidents in Tanumshede and marks the end of a quiet winter for detective Patrik Hedström and his colleagues.

At the same time a reality TV show is being shot in the town. As cameras shadow the stars’ every move, relations with the locals are strained to breaking point. When a drunken party ends with a particularly unpopular contestant’s murder, the cast and crew are obvious suspects. Could there be a killer in their midst?

As the country tunes in, the bodies mount up. Under the intense glare of the media spotlight, Patrik faces his toughest investigation yet…

Genre

Crime & mystery fiction, Thriller / suspense fiction

Listen to a sample

Praise for Camilla Lackberg:

‘Lackberg is an expert at mixing scenes of domestic cosiness with blood-curdling horror… a must for white-knuckle junkies’ Guardian

‘Läckberg is particularly good at portraying the claustrophobia of a small community in which everyone knows everyone else and the police may well be friends with killers’ The Times

‘Another top-class Scandinavian crime writer reaches the British market’ The Times

‘Chilly, deceptive and lucid, just like the icy environment it describes’ Literary Review

‘Both chilling and thrilling’ Sun

‘Has a brooding quality redolent of its barren Swedish landscapes… intriguing and not a little disturbing’ Irish Times

‘Heart-stopping and heart-warming, ‘The Ice Princess’ is a masterclass in Scandinavian crime writing’ Val McDermid