Information Officer
Mark Mills, Read by Peter Joyce

Book cover image

Narrated By: Peter Joyce

Duration: 10 hours and 16 minutes

What to expect

From the No. 1 bestseller and author of Richard & Judy pick The Savage Garden: an atmospheric world war two crime thriller for fans of Carlos Ruiz Zafon and Jed Rubenfeld

"You want to know who I am? I'm the last living soul you'll ever set eyes on"

Summer, 1942. For the people of Malta, suffering daily bombing raids, the British are the last line of defence against the Nazis. And it is Max Chadwick's job as the information officer to ensure the news the islanders receive maintains morale.

So when Max is given proof suggesting a British officer is murdering local women, he knows the consequences of discovery are dire. With the violence on the war-ravaged island escalating daily, he embarks on a private investigation, hidden from the eyes of superiors, friends and the woman he loves.

But Max finds himself torn between patriotic duty and personal honour in his efforts to track down the killer… an elusive figure always one step ahead of his hunter.

Genre

Crime & mystery fiction

Listen to a sample

Acclaim for 'The Savage Garden':

'An intriguing puzzle, elegantly written… a pleasure to read… the atmosphere of an Italian summer and of the mysterious garden are beautifully captured' Sunday Telegraph

'Mills writes beautifully; leading us gently and atmospherically through the Tuscan renaissance garden… an unusual, captivating novel that is a cut above the norm' The Times

'Unputdownable… hugely atmospheric' Daily Mirror

'Entertaining… Mills weaves together two murder mysteries in his elegantly contrived plot' Times Literary Supplement

'A fine sense of period and place, a well-managed narrative, crisp prose and fascinating information… Mills is one to watch' Spectator

'Mills juggles the mysteries of three periods, switching between centuries with a conjuror's skill… the book is beautifully written, giving life to the figures in their Tuscan landscape' Literary Review

'A mesmerizing piece of writing… Mills is a skillful writer and combines all the disparate strands into a striking tapestry' Independent

'An intriguing historical thriller which confirms him as a first-class and unusual crime writer' Daily Mail

'A beautifully penned, high-brow crime thriller' City AM

'To be savoured… Mills weaves together an intriguing mixture of love, loss and divided loyalties' Guardian