Kill Call
Stephen Booth, Read by Will Thorpe

Book cover image

Narrated By: Will Thorpe

Duration: 10 hours and 40 minutes

What to expect

An atmospheric new thriller for fans of Peter Robinson and Reginald Hill.

On a rain-swept Derbyshire moor, hounds from the local foxhunt find the body of a well-dressed man whose head has been crushed. Yet an anonymous caller reports the same body lying half a mile away. Called in to investigate the discovery, detectives DS Diane Fry and DC Ben Cooper become entangled in the violent world of hunting and hunt saboteurs, horse theft and a little-known sector of the meat trade.

As Fry follows a complex trail of her own to unravel the shady business interests of the murder victim, Cooper realizes that the answer to the case might lie deep in the past. History is everywhere around him in the Peak District landscape – particularly in the ‘plague village’ of Eyam, where an outbreak of Black Death has been turned into a modern-day tourist attraction.

But, even as the final solution is revealed, both Fry and Cooper find themselves having to face up to the disturbing reality of the much more recent past.

Genre

Crime & mystery fiction

Listen to a sample

Praise for Dying to Sin:

‘Clever, intricate plot… Cooper is an ascendant Lewis to Fry’s lonely, bitter Morse in this… gripping procedural’ Financial Times

Praise for Scared to Live:

'It's easy to see why Stephen Booth's novels are so popular. The Peak District's awesome scenery is an ideal background for a murder or two; he has developed his two principal characters into rounded personalities and he always gives them an intriguing mystery to investigate' Sunday Telegraph

'A modern master of rural noir' Guardian

'Booth's aim is to portray the darkness that lies below the surface… in this he succeeds wonderfully well' Daily Mail

'Ingenious plotting and richly atmospheric' Reginald Hill

Praise for Stephen Booth:

'The complex relationship between [Cooper and Fry] is excellently drawn, and is combined with an intriguing plot and a real sense of place: Stephen Booth is an author to keep an eye on' Evening Standard

'Stephen Booth makes high summer in Derbyshire as dark and terrifying as midwinter' Val McDermid

'A leading light of British crime writing' Guardian